And so begins March

hello,

how’s it goin?

(That’s me btw ↘)

March is my fave month. And this march started off with the Oscars where right off the bat, we fell in love with this couple:

Bhzn51TIQAAKOeq-1

…But especially fell in love with her

lupita-nyong-o-in-prada-2014-oscars-red-carpet_6

And after doing some googling…

found that Lupita Nyong’o is a truly remarkable human being who is now my new hero.

Then JoTo won a photo contest with this photo depicting “Education Today”.

winnerwinner chicken dinna

Wooooooo

But the day she found out she had won, she then received news of the opposite kind. News that nobody ever wants to hear or have to deal with the repercussions of.

…am I gonna go there? Let it flow…

Sad news that will change his daughters lives because he is no longer in them, and yet he always will be a part of.

This one’s dedicated to you Uncle Mike.

Were it not for that camera, I wouldn’t have been able to capture this beautiful memory of his oldest daughter and my cousin dancing in his honor.

His youngest daughter, and one of my best friends, sang to the tune of her dad’s legacy. If you’re reading this, I love you T and R. Never stop making your art.

There’s a book that I’m reading to L right now called “Each Little Bird that Sings” EachLittleBird1and in it there’s a quote– something like “People die, so we can live on”. I love the perspective there, because with a grey thing like death, it’s hard to keep from looking at it from a downwards angle– like a grave in the ground. But if you look at it like a white thing thats high, higher than the beautiful blue ceiling of atmosphere overhead, it’s easier to turn around and walk on and make something incredible of yourself. I promise you, those memories and lessons will stay so much closer when you can dance and sing about them, always living on. That’s what they would have wanted, and you know it.

This post was something I started the other night just to catch up with my readers and at first I thought it would just be a blurb on all the happy notes March has kicked off with. It was going to be something to get my mind off this. But then it grew into what I guess I’d call my closure, and I just want to thank you dear reader for reading it. If any of you are struggling with loss, I truly hope this helps.

tumblr_mibjscds4p1rtzbb2o1_400And have a wonderful March

4 thoughts on “And so begins March”

Leaf a comment!

