There comes a point…

where you grow up. And it only takes a day. You realize that beings you know are getting married and babies are on the way (In my case everyone’s getting their permit) while accidents happen and people die and it shatters families everywhere. You’re eyes open and you take five steps back. The world is eurupting in change war and peace and you feel miniscule while at the same time you feel gargantuan knowing that you KNOW what’s going on and that it’s your duty as a human being to be a part of it, because you’re not a little kid anymore. In one day you quit crying and whining about things that seem hard. You quit worrying what people think and let your hair down because there’s just so much more to think about. My childhood is over and the baby tears are gone. Sunset magazine comes in the mail and you read it feeling overwhelmed with wishful thinking of having money and affording beautiful things and trips to Oahu. Everything seems possible, including living the Sunset life, because all that’s left hard to do is p.e. tomorrow, maybe a math test, just another three years of high school then another couple years of fun school in either Utah or Hawaii, maybe a job interview… And that’s it!
Or so it seems for about 24 hours.

Some thought that lead to this epiphany of maturity: There is absolutley no way I can be a happy human if I coninue to lean unto my own philosophy. I can not swim this ocean alone… because how dumb is that? … cheering yourself on. No I have a Heavenly Father who cheers me on every day of my life. He will carry me to happiness if I let him. But it’s that “if” that trips 90% of the world up. I have lived underneath that “if” for fourteen (and 3/4ths) years. That single”if” has been the cause of all my philosozed headaches I’ve given myself the last few years. No longer. Squash the “if”. Our Heavenly Father is a God of simplicity. It is simply defect of human nature to make things more complicated than they are. Our Heavenly Father is so simply wonderful and loving, he has the ability to carry us, lift us higher and farther than our imperfect and philosophical human bodies could possibly take us.

I love sitting in the car. Speedily rumbling along a street somewhere to do something. Here’s the analogy: We are speeding along life… Babies grow up WAY too fast, and we age parallel to that speed. Knowing this, I’m going to spend less time angry. Spend more time hugging and smiling and picking up someone else’s mess… Whether it be rainy or sunny out my window. Stop wishing, have hope.

Act parallel to life’s beauty, and let Pinoccio be the one to wish upon stars.

3 thoughts on “There comes a point…”

  1. When you say, ” Our Heavenly Father is a God of simplicity,” I think you have hit on it Syd.

    “Our Heavenly Father is so simply wonderful and loving, he has the ability to carry us, lift us higher and farther than our imperfect and philosophical human bodies could possibly take us.” Well said, and oh so true.

    I love reading your blog and I love you. GPa

    Well said I often think that he had to use simplicity so we would “get it”. He gave us a bunch of commandments, but the first two are the most simple things and everyone should be able to understand what he means:

    1. Love me
    2. Love everyone else like you love your selves.

Leaf a comment!

